How Am I (and you) Doing Financially?
  • Hello everyone,

I thought I'd start this thread to gauge how everyone is doing with their goals. This is by no means me fishing for compliments -- I'm looking for honest feed back.

I am 31 years old, single, and have been making 6 figures since I graduated college, averaging $225,000 for the last 3 years. I have a net worth of about $320,000, divided between cash, investments and retirement accounts. I have no debt aside from my mortgage (own my car, no credit card debt, no student loans, etc). I am also 1.5 years away from completing my MBA -- paying cash for tuition each year (about $85,000 when its all done).

While that seems great on paper, I do not feel like I am saving or doing well enough -- am I a victim of being accustomed to a higher income? I feel like with my income I should have more saved and a higher net worth (I realize that some of my investments have not been so great -- thanks Apple options...). I am not a big spender, but after taxes, 401k, etc, I'm left with ~$9,000/month. After expenses, I usually have $2,000-4,000 left over. Am I just being ridiculous?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks all,

N
  • Bricky81 - you're in a great situation in my opinion. I earn just shy of six figures for my salary here in Utah (along with small bonuses and benefits) and here in Utah, the cost of living is pretty decent. Current debt is my house and two cars (one car will be paid off this year). I have $55,000 in savings and net worth is about $259,000. I am married and 35 years old. I have investments in Lending Club, Prosper, Stocks, my 401K, and my own business.

Your salary is amazing - you should give yourself some credit for the earning power you are achieving. You are in the top 5% of the nation. You are thinking and doing investing and diversified. It sounds like you are evaluating and trying to get better. In my opinion, you're doing great...