News:

To return to the forum homepage, please click the banner at the top of your browser.

Main Menu

What platform do you use to purchase bonds?

Started by sfpf, August 18, 2018, 04:50:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sfpf

I'm thinking about starting some positions in bonds to add to my stock and ETF portfolio. How did you get started and what platform do you use?

sfpf

I use Fidelity and have been happy with them. Trading treasuries is free if you do it yourself online. I never call trades in over the phone, pretty sure they charge for that.

gravkis

I have been using Fidelity & Interactive Brokers for past several years

Sam

I use Fidelity, but the fees to buy individual bonds is expensive. I think it's something like $10 for $10,000 worth of bonds.

But at least Fidelity has about 70 commission free ETFs with low fees.
Regards,

Sam

Leigh

I also use Fidelity.  I invest for my parents and they are extremely risk averse, as in ....they only want state muni bonds. We put everything in a mixed basket of GO bonds AAA or within two rankings and they earn 5% on all of their monies. I don't care about the yield to maturity because they aren't reinvesting, just using the monies to pay for hair cuts, rent, groceries and medicine. 

Eric

For Fixed Income - this is where managed funds work very well.  Dollar for dollar, trading bonds is much more expensive than trading stock. Lack of exchanges, basic electronic trading and a lot of the market still being traded over voice (for sizeable trades) are key deterrents.