News:

To return to the forum homepage, please click the banner at the top of your browser.

Main Menu

Is joining a city club and/or country club worth the investment

Started by JTones, March 11, 2019, 07:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JTones

Hello,

I moved to Charlotte, NC in late 2016 for career growth after being laid off from my employer in Jacksonville, FL. I currently work in IT as a project manager for SDLC projects. I am still relatively new to the area and therefore don't have a ton of connections (both professional and personal). I am most likely considered a "young professional" at 32 years old. I do not have kids yet, but would like to in the future.

I have recently looked in to joining the Charlotte City Club. The club is located in Downtown Charlotte in a high-rise building with excellent views of the city. They have two dining rooms (one casual and one formal), a bar area, and a lounge area (which can also be used as a remote work space). They are adding a rooftop bar/lounge area in 2020. Within the club are "micro-clubs" such as the Young Professionals Club, Wine Club, Cigar/Whiskey Club, etc. Each micro-club holds a monthly event and most also have off-site excursions (attending a sports game together, going to a brewery, etc.). In addition, the Club hosts events for members throughout the year (i.e. Winter Gala).

When you join the Charlotte City Club, you receive reciprocal membership with 5 area country clubs (i.e. River Run Country Club in Davidson, NC). The reciprocal memberships are included in your membership with CCC. Most of the country clubs offer amenities such as golf, tennis, yoga, dining, and resort style pools. You also receive reciprocal membership with other participating City Clubs (approx. 300 clubs nationwide).