News:

To return to the forum homepage, please click the banner at the top of your browser.

Main Menu

Higher Education for an engineer

Started by joshskies, October 29, 2018, 12:35:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joshskies

My question is, would something like an MBA be a good thing for a seasoned engineer to have better opportunities?

Personally, I am good at the technical aspects of my job, it just doesn't pay as well as I would like, and my ultimate goal is to have passive income to not have to earn a paycheck. However, this is life and my current situation will require a some time to get out of, so the best way to combat this is to get a better paying job.

I've been an engineer for about a decade. In my corner of the job market, there is a limit to growth as the glass ceiling is somewhat low. Engineering in an R&D setting or a support role rarely generates significant revenue for high dollar salaries and raises. It's a comfortable job that plays the grind, but never has any game-changers. Moving over to production, there are many more possibilities because work there are higher probabilities of getting into a managerial position, however, production has its own headaches and drawbacks.

Personally the allure of a corporate type job helping make the decisions in revenue generating paths forward and all the upper level thinking is attractive. Yes, you have to earn your keep to get there, but what is that step and would additional education help? One option that I've been weighing heavily is a (relatively) inexpensive MBA for $12-14k through a certified program (UL-Lafayette, UT-Corpus Cristi, UT-Commerce, etc)

Derrick