News:

To return to the forum homepage, please click the banner at the top of your browser.

Main Menu

Lots of people making money around real estate, but not as investors?

Started by david123, August 14, 2019, 06:05:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

david123

First off, I have very little experience in real estate having never owned an investment property.  I've been curious lately, and looking into it more.  I've found there are LOTS of people circling the real estate market (agents, property managers, financial people, bloggers, people selling books or classes, ...etc) looking to make money off the investors.  It strikes me as unusual if these people say they are making millions off real estate, but then want to charge $1,500 to for a class or blog, or whatever.

I've also seen tons of "turn key" real estate for sale.  If it's such a great investment (cash flow positive, great tenants, great appreciation, ...) then why are they selling it?

Sorry, but I am an natural skeptic.  I've been reading bigger pockets and it seems they are really down on 401Ks and the stock market, but I've done very well in mutual funds with very little effort.  I'm considering a jump to real estate, but I'm trying to convince myself.

sfpf

Are you renting your primary residence or do you own your home and are looking to buy your second property as an investment?