News:

To return to the forum homepage, please click the banner at the top of your browser.

Main Menu

Investment ideas for kids?

Started by Faith2014, November 13, 2018, 11:55:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Faith2014

All,

I've been putting money aside for my 3 nephews for a couple of years and would like to start investing it.  Hopefully I can enlist them as well - my family has been financially unsophisticated / unwise over the decades and I'd like to be a positive role model.  Giving them some money to start life off with is my main goal as well as giving them a different perspective on life and money.  I grew up hearing that people on in debt their entire lives and die that way too.  Very self-defeating.

The investments will be held in my name - the way things are going, they will get need-based money for college, and I don't want to put anything in their name to possibly risk that.  I'm virtually the sole support for my sister and her 3 sons.  She gets a little over $650/month in child support due to her ex's hidden cash income.  Oh well.  I'd be in a much better spot financially if this wasn't the case, but life happens and I prefer to focus on their future rather than bemoan the state of affairs.

On different forums, I've seen advice stating to buy them a kids' oriented stock and re-invest the dividends.  Others suggest a mutual fund  (VTSMX for example) because the stock could go south. 

Opinions?

As background, the boys are 10, 8 and 8.  I'm 52, she's 42.  I have a term life for the next 7-8 years for their support in case something happens to me.  I'm not married, and my house should be paid off in 7-8 years.  My investments are all in 401K, IRA (Vanguard) and a self-directed IRA (real estate).  I'm above the median for retirement and net worth, but not at Sam's 'above average' level due to life.

Thanks!

Cheezus